The Belfry Inn consists of three historic properties, The Abbey a former church, The Painted Lady the former rectory and the Village House a federal style home. The Painted Lady is a classic Victorian, with its multiple gables and its shingled, windowed turret, replete with wrought iron embellishments. The classic exterior, welcoming entry and Eastlake Victorian newel post herald the myriad and multi-faceted Victorian nuances to follow. Built in 1882 and commissioned by the Drew family, each room is named after a family member. Each of Painted Ladys nine comfortable and charming rooms is individually furnished and features such warm touched as hand-painted furniture, antiques, beautiful Oriental carpets, Laura Ashley- esque textiles and lots of whimsy. All feature private bath and some with the unexpected indulgences-gas fireplaces, balconies, skylights and whirlpool bath tubs. The gracious soaring tower, which includes a common sitting area replete with Alice in Wonderland hand-painted mural, overlooks Sandwich Village Jarves Street. Down comforters with decorator duvets, distinctive window treatments, artwork and objects dart round out the decor. While Painted Lady ubiquitous amenities keep the world partially at bay, in-room phones, television and wireless internet mean contact with the outside is available, if guests wish it. The first floor occupies the Painted Lady serving contemporary comfort food open for lunch and dinner. The Abbey is an architectural and aesthetic tour de force. This grand space has been segregated ingeniously and imaginatively into dining and lodging spaces. Guests and dining patrons enter into a soaring space, warmly lit with retrofitted ecclesiastical lighting handsomely accented by ground level amber stained glass windows. The grand fireplace-lit on cooler evenings-is the focal point of the main dining room.